Apple ID synchronization is the same way of saving your progress, like connection via Facebook.
Whenever you have lost your device or bought a new one and would like to transfer the progress, the Apple ID synchronization will help you if your device is an Apple Platform.
Just click on the cogwheel, open "Settings," tap on the "Sign in with Apple," and the progress will be synchronized with your Apple ID profile.